Monday, April 12, 2010

Silver Spring Heritage Trail Signs Unveiling Ceremony - April 17, 2010 at 1 pm

The Silver Spring Heritage Trail is the first official Montgomery County Main Street Heritage Trail—A joint endeavor between the County Executive's Office, the County Council, the Silver Spring Regional Services Center, the Silver Spring Historical Society, and the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission Staff.

The Silver Spring Heritage Trail is the County's legal mitigation requirement from the 1998 loss through demolition of the historic 1927 Silver Spring National Guard Armory on Wayne Avenue for redevelopment of the core of Silver Spring's Central Business District.

Stroll One of Silver Spring's Original Main Streets, Georgia Avenue! Discover where Silver Spring's Central Business District was born! and Its First Newspaper, "The Maryland News"! Discover where Silver Spring's first Department Store was located! Discover where Silver Spring's first Bank was located! Discover where Silver Spring's first Bakery was located! These Pioneering Structures are Enlivened "now and then" by multi-cultural small independent businesses and a variety of institutions! Experience Adaptive Reuse at Its Best! Heritage Tourism is economic development, also known as "Sense of Place Economics!”

Participants: Montgomery County Executive Isiah (Ike) Leggett, Montgomery County Council Member Valerie Ervin, D-5th, Montgomery County Council Member Marc Elrich, D-At Large & Mara Parker, Elrich Staff Member, Montgomery County Council Member Duchy Trachtenberg, D-At Large, & Alan Bowser, Trachtenberg Chief of Staff, Former Silver Spring Citizens Advisory Board Member, U.S. Congressman Chris Van Hollen Represented by Aide Julius West, Maryland State Representatives including State Senator Jamie Raskin, Delegates Sheila Hixson & Tom Hucker, D-20th , Silver Spring Historical Society Jerry A. McCoy, President & Founder, Marcie Stickle & George French, Marilyn Slatick, Board, Silver Spring Regional Services Center Representative Mel Tull, Historic Preservation Commission Staff Representative Scott Whipple, HPC Supervisor, & Tom Jester, Acting HPC Chair, Auras Design Inc. Representatives Rob Sugar & Sharri Wolfgang, Montgomery Preservation Inc. Representative Eileen McGuckian, Maryland Historical Trust Invited, National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Marcie Stickle, Silver Spring Historical Society, Advocacy Chair, 301-585-3817 (Voice Mail & Direct),

No comments: